Because life is a series of edits

Weight, Weight, Don’t Tell Me

In Health, Holidays on November 28, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Doctors-scalesNow that we're on the backside of Thanksgiving but still have Christmas and New Year's up ahead, I'm toying with an idea/practice that I hope will stick. It's new, fresh, and possibly life-changing.

Yes, though I hate it, I'm thinking of exercising…in the evening…at home…a couple times a month…maybe even a few times a week.

I first took notice of my weight (at least enough to write about it) around my mid-thirties when I began to toe the (gasp) 200-pound line. Now twenty pounds beyond that, it's probably time to revisit the topic.

Actually, I need to do more than revisit it; I need to do something about it. So, I'm starting a month earlier than the normal New Year's resolution crowd by exercising three times a week on a treadmill at night.

Why at night? 1) To keep me from falling asleep at 9 p.m. and get more than a page of a book read before bed, and 2) because the morning and afternoon have never worked for me in the past. In other words, this is my last shot. After this, I'm out of ideas.

Exercise always goes better with better eating habits, but I'll let the former lead me into the latter if it so chooses. Regardless, getting the blood pumping (and a few pounds dropping) would be a good thing going into 2012.

As the beer commercials say, "Here we go!"

  1. A couple of thoughts, for what they are worth…
    First: good for you.
    Second: I’m a little cautious about your idea about letting the exercise “lead” the eating habits. I took that approach at one point, and found that— after a couple of months of regular working out— my metabolism really started kicking in and I ate like a horse. My weight loss stalled, until I started on a real eating program.
    That’s simply to say you may want to try starting the exercise, then following with some sort of eating plan (at least basic calorie-counting) shortly thereafter…
    Again, good for you. Rooting for you, man.

  2. Congrats – go for it. By means of encouragement, can I encourage you to post back in a few weeks and let us know how it is going? Someone once told me, “Never expect what you don’t inspect”. (Sorry, I can’t remember if it was you or not.)
    Personally, I have found a way to encourage exercising indoors. I generally don’t “allow” myself to watch *serial TV* unless I am exercising while doing so. (Serial TV = seasons of Star Trek and StarGate SG1 :)

  3. Post-40 weight management is such a huge struggle. Blech, and right there with you.
    I recently read “Mastering Your Metabolism” by Jillian Michaels. If you can get past the writing style, she actually knows what she’s talking about.

  4. Thanks, all, for the concern and ideas here. I’ve already fallen off the wagon a bit, but am hoping to get back on things tonight (schedule’s been pretty wonky of late).
    Good thought on the diet, Ed. Tim, I like the serial TV idea, especially since I never watch TV but would sometimes like to (unfortunately, the television is in a different room). I’ve been listening to Eugene Peterson’s memoir, Pastor, though, which has been good.
    Chels, I think the metabolism thing is a big part of my issue, but I’m not sure I can bring myself to read Jillian. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

