Because life is a series of edits

So I’ve Been Thinking Lately…

In Pop Culture on June 21, 2010 at 9:30 pm

…that the rhythm of the chain clanging against the hub of our bedroom ceiling fan is the exact rhythm of the song "Jellicle Cats" from the musical, Cats.

…that I have never understood (nor could I explain) the idea of "the whole is more than the sum of its parts" (and no, I'm not looking for anyone's particular interpretation).

…that if anyone wants a preview of an over-taxed, lousy-serviced, bureaucratic nightmare of America, look no further: it's here in Missouri (and now playing daily at the DMV).

…that I don't trust the chlorine to do its job in the community pool, but have no desire to discover what's really going on (ignorance – though potentially life-threatening – is bliss).

…that my readers might appreciate more actual content, so I'll try to work on that.

  1. Oh CATS. I’ve been listening to the sound track of late. I pulled up a few videos on Youtube and was mortified. Haven loves the poetry, but I hope she doesn’t ask to go see the show anytime soon. YIKES!

  2. Jess, what was the main source of your mortification (other than the spandex costumes, which are frightening enough)?
    The thing about Cats (from my perspective at least) is it’s not really a show that’s enjoyable to watch; it’s like a talent show for the local felines, as there’s really not much of a plot driving the whole thing. The poetry’s great and Lloyd Webber’s music singable enough, but there’s a dated feel to it because of when it came out in the 80’s and the keyboard technology it made use of at the time.
    Thoughts?

  3. The spandex and totally unnecessary pelvic thrusts every 2 seconds are what mortified me. Probably because there isn’t much plot, in lieu of thinking about how to choreograph creatively, they just threw in a lot of sex and hoped everyone would just love it…which I think everyone did – including me back then. I love the score though, despite the 80’s feel.

Leave a Reply

