Because life is a series of edits

I Hear There’s an App for That

In Internet, Technology on November 19, 2009 at 8:40 pm

Iphone-appstore I've had an iTouch for a couple of years now, but I've not really spent a lot of time looking through the supposed 85,000 apps that Apple claims have been created for it. To date, I've downloaded a few games for my girls to play, an app called Check Please to calculate tips, the Zippo Lighter app should I happen to attend a concert that rocks, the Just Light app that projects a white screen to read by if it's dark (and I'm desperate), and the Facebook app.

I don't have a lot of time to come up with needs I have for apps (and any apps that might meet them), so I'm throwing it out here. For you iTouch users, what apps have you downloaded and use the most? My only criteria are that they're useful and free (yes, I know some of them are only a few bucks, but I'm cheap).

  1. Yelp is a great App for finding places to eat. It is location-based (works with iPod Touch if you have WiFi), which is especially helpful if you you are traveling. Reviews also included.
    WeatherBug is a nice weather app, complete with radar maps.
    Evernote is a great tool for keeping notes synced between your iPod touch, the Internet, and your laptop.
    Pumpkin. Alright, Halloween is over, but this is still one of my favorites (and yes, I am a grown-up). Think Mr Potatoe meets iPhone.

  2. P.S. The Pumpkin application is actually called “Crazy Pumpkin”.

  3. I feel embarrassed. I left out the most important one…
    BIBLE – a free app with dozens of translations. It is very easy to use, whether for looking up a verse, doing devotions (don’t need to turn on a light to do so), or searching for a word.

Leave a Reply

