Because life is a series of edits

My Cynicism (Sadly) Knows No Bounds

In Pop Culture on January 25, 2009 at 4:56 pm

It snowed this morning – the first we've had in 2009 – with big flakes and lots of them. By noon, however, the snow stopped, the roads were cleared, and the grass – lightly covered with a nice whiteness that unifies the city landscape – will likely be greener tomorrow. And that's too bad.

It's been a long time since I've watched it snow without holding my breath wondering if it was going to continue. Colorado was great for the occasional snow that was a sure thing, but I even remember times as a kid growing up in Illinois when it started snowing and I never doubted it would continue.

Now, when it starts snowing, the question in my mind is one of how little – not how much – we'll get. Have I somehow become cynical about snowfall in addition to everything else? That's sad.
  1. Irony: we’re off from school today (Tuesday) due to ice. Before it started last night, I was hopeful; when it started, however, I was doubtful. Thankfully, my mental gymnastics had nothing to do with it.

  2. Snow day number two today. Okay, Lord, you’ve made your point.

  3. I think it’s just called being a realistic St. Louisan.

Leave a Reply

