Because life is a series of edits

Black Friday on the Farm

In Books, Family, Friends, Holidays, Places, TV on November 28, 2008 at 11:04 am

I’m doubtful many folks are checking blogs today, but if you are:

  • We had a great Thanksgiving here on the farm – fun with family, amazing food, some basketball, a star-filled evening hayride, a couple of naps
  • No one has so much as even mentioned doing a little Black Friday shopping
  • Megan and the girls are going to see Bolt with my sisters and their kids today
  • I’m trying to resist the temptation of my parents’ Dish Network and Discovery Channel’s Deadliest Catch marathon
  • Instead, I’m hoping to write some Old Testament reflections (as they’re to be more devotional, I’m going to pull a Wendell Berry and write them longhand)
  • Speaking of Wendell, I’m also attempting to resist the temptation of finishing his book, The Memory of Old Jack, which I made the mistake of packing
  • We’re heading back to St. Louis early tomorrow morning for what will surely be a very sad memorial service and funeral, but look forward to finishing out the Thanksgiving break at home

Thanksgiving is easily my favorite holiday, but the break always feels so short. The good news is, because Thanksgiving was so late this year, I only have two weeks of teaching and a week of finals before two weeks of Christmas break.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday weekend, everyone.

  1. Wendall is getting me through life right now. And Jesus too, but boy how I’m loving Mr. Berry!

Leave a Reply

