Because life is a series of edits

If at First You Don’t Succeed, Rock, Rock Again!

In Pop Culture on November 17, 2008 at 2:00 am

Got to get this (or its non-expletive version) into the epilogue of ThirtySomewhere. Consider these gems:

"Once I hit 40, man, there's going to be no stopping me. Soon as the big birthday rolls around, I'm planning on starting that novel, opening my long-dreamed-of record store, and finally breaking into the experimental underground film scene. By the time I'm 43, I wouldn't be surprised if I'm the hippest person I know."

"As long as I stay focused on my original goal, established at age 12, of having a rocking life, the sky's the limit. Sure, I haven't managed to achieve anything so far. Fair enough. But the way I figure it, I can either let myself get depressed about that fact like I did when I turned 18, 21, 25, 30, 35, and 39, or I can choose to look at this as an opportunity. An opportunity to rock!"

"Facing a birthday like this one (fortieth) puts things in perspective. You reassess what's truly important and you start to ask yourself the big questions: Like, will I ever really be able to pull off the leather pants look? What's it going to be like once I'm finally one of the 'cool kids'? Do I really have it in me to someday achieve the confidence, self-esteem, and sex appeal necessary to be the wicked party monster I've always known, deep down, I could be?"

If it all just weren't so true…

  1. Dude, I’m not going to “hit” 40. I’m going to kiss it.

Leave a Reply

