Because life is a series of edits

So Maybe I Reacted a Bit

In Books on September 10, 2008 at 6:26 am

I came across this post from Thomas Nelson CEO Michael Hyatt twice this morning, so I thought I’d see why people were linking to it. The post (on modesty) is fine, but I may have let my better judgment slip in leaving my comment (normally I would just roll my eyes and move on). What do you think? Did I blow it? What am I missing?

  1. I think you have it totally right. The mighty dollar is more important than integrity. Interesting post.

  2. Are you going to let his flippant response to you go? It doesn’t matter that nobody has read the book yet. Actions speak louder than words. Everyone on the planet who has the unfortunate ability to plug into American entertainment has been exposed to the Spears’ shenanigans. I can’t imagine who in their right mind would take a book like that as credible parenting advice.

    Puh-leeese.

    Okay, so I’m not helping you here, am I?

  3. Oh, I didn’t see his response to you. What are you going to do? What is prudent, what is honest? Keep me posted. I didn’t see his response in my first noticing this article. I think he must be diluded to think it would be a helpful book on said issue.

  4. Craig, I read that article yesterday and had the very same question! I thought that surely someone else would have asked it, but I looked through the comments and didn’t see it. So glad you did ask. And, yes, his response was lame.

  5. For what it’s worth, I’ve noticed him commenting about how surprising the content of the book is elsewhere, and for all we know she’s telling an amazing story of faith.

    (It’s hard to remember now, but back when Britney was about to explode onto the scene, everyone was talking about this chaste, talented girl who was going to take the world by storm. Maybe Lynn raised her daughters in the faith as best as she could, and they fell off the deep-end anyway. It happens.)

    Still, strange juxtaposition, I agree– and he could have given more in his answer than that without hurting sales of the book (in fact, it may have helped sales had he given a “teaser” of sorts).

    I’d let it be. Savvy readers will know the truth– or to wait to learn it.

  6. As Anne expressed, I, too, was dumbfounded by the lack of questions regarding the combination of Mr. Hyatt’s topic with Lynne Spears’ upcoming book. I know a little about how book publishing works, and in the majority of publishing houses (Christian ones especially), the marketing department trumps editorial in having the final say almost every time. Spears’ book seems a prime example of on that someone thought would “sell,” and I suppose it will.

    As to the content, In a press release issued two days ago, Hyatt said:

    “The Lynne Spears book is not yet available for sale, and it won’t be until September 16. So despite certain claims that are being reported by the tabloid press and Internet gossip sites, this is not a ‘tell all book’ nor a parenting book. The so-called ‘facts’ that they claim Lynne reveals about Britney and her family are a complete fabrication.”

    Regardless of what the book is or isn’t about, I find it amazing that there are people interested in reading it. It brings to mind the old joke that starts, “Have you heard the one about the Christian mind?” Answer: “What Christian mind?” Perhaps the real question in all this is not why Thomas Nelson is publishing a book so obviously driven by celebrity (the initial title was Pop Culture Mom), but why thousands of Christians are so eager to read it? What does the answer to this question tell us about the state of the American Church and our preoccupation with fame?

  7. Several thoughts: Firstly, is this man Rip Van Winkle? Tuning in to MTV and being surprised by the lack of modesty? Come on! I publicly thanked my dad recently for not allowing me to watch MTV in the early to late 1990s. It was nearly twenty years ago now that I first wanted to watch music videos, and I don’t recall many non-skanky videos from that era.

    Secondly, Lynne Spears … well, what can you really say? I also find it incredibly difficult to envision this as anything other than an effort to capitalize on notoriety. It can hardly be an account of Christian parenting, unless it’s a book subscribing to the “do as I say, not as I did” philosophy of advice-giving.

Leave a Reply

