Because life is a series of edits

Summarizing on a Saturday

In Education, Politics, Seminary, Sports, Westminster on August 23, 2008 at 11:31 am

I recognize the past week has been less than impressive in terms of original content. Here’s an attempt at righting that wrong:

1. As I see it, the selection of Joe Biden as Barack Obama‘s running mate makes a lot of sense…in the short term. Biden personifies age and diplomacy more than Obama does, and his infamous tongue will serve well in swatting away John McCain‘s attacks, thereby letting Obama do what he does best in focusing on the positive. Long term, though, the Democrats are going to be stuck after eight years, as no one’s going to elect Biden because of his age, and I don’t think even Hillary will be in the picture by then (though I still wouldn’t count her out in this race – stranger things have happened).

2. If McCain chooses Mitt Romney, I think he’s done. The two don’t even like each other, and both bolster the “rich, white guy” stereotype that unfortunately marks the Republican party. Maybe this is why Romney is actually a VP possiblity – it sends a message to the conservative base that McCain really is one of them – but that’s not going to be too motivating to moderates and undecideds weary of the stereotype. Picking Romney doesn’t seem very much of a maverick move for the Maverick, but I’m not sure who else in the Republican party would be. How about Ron Paul?

3. With the Olympics finishing up tomorrow, I have mixed feelings about these Games in China. My hope is that, through all the interaction with other countries and greater exposure to democracy, something would stir in China that, down the road, would bring real change to the lives of her citizens. My fear, however, is that any such seed will be rooted out, no thanks to the softened stance of mainstream American journalists (particularly NBC, who patronizingly broadcasted the Games) and the IOC‘s UN-like oversight of the whole spectacle in general. It will be interesting to see what comes of the investigation of China’s women’s little girls’ gymnastics team, and what the world’s response will be to the verdict (if indeed any is given).

4. I register for fall classes at Covenant this coming week, and then start the following Tuesday. I wish I had a little more of a breather between my summer course and the beginning of five new hours this semester, but I don’t get to vote. If all goes well, I should finish a master’s in theological studies in May of 2009 (that’s this coming spring!) and a master’s in educational ministries in May of 2010. Neither is that far away, but it still feels like miles to go before I sleep, as these folks must similarly feel.

5. Speaking of sleep, I have an uncanny ability to get some. I swear I was asleep twenty seconds after my head hit the pillow every night this week. My co-teacher, Larry Hughes, says I must have a clear conscience; I assure him it’s just that I’m tired.

6. I really like my classes at Westminster, and boy howdy, is it ever easier doing this the second time around. Whereas the first year seemed so much like walking in the dark and trying to teach something along the way, this year would seem to be the one in which I really figure out what exactly I’m teaching and the best way to teach it. I’ve got a great schedule, some cool kids (ones I’ve had and ones I haven’t), and I’m pretty pumped about taking bigger steps this year toward being a great teacher.

7. The new header above is not final. My friend, Kent, is playing with a couple design ideas after some feedback I gave him on the one above, so I should have the final one up soon. Hang with me.

I’ve got pictures and smoke detectors to hang, a few books to finish, and some email to catch up on this weekend, so I’ll wrap it up. If you’re still around, thanks for reading.

  1. OSAMA BIN LADEN

    OBAMA & BIDEN

    Isn’t it just strange how we’re only a few letters from what caused America’s political future? Literary irony.

  2. I think we give Osama bin Laden too much credit for America’s struggles and the “cause of America’s political future” (not sure I understand your phrase, but I’ll go with it). Reading into names like this, though, can be unnecessarily divisive, kind of like reading Bible codes into the Scriptures – okay, it may be ironic (and semi-interesting as a result), but it doesn’t mean anything; the problem comes when people think it does.

    Anybody remember this unfortunate example from South Carolina in April?

  3. My phrasing was tongue in cheek but also confusing based on a severe lack of sleep. I wish I could fall asleep two seconds after hitting the pillow.

    I’m not reading anything at all into the names — I just found it interesting. I’m a fan of word puzzles, but I don’t believe in any of that code garbage. (You may not remember, but my mom was a numerologist. I really abhor the whole code thing.)

    I do believe 9/11 (and the person who orchestrated it) is still a major factor in this year’s election. Many people are voting against Bush, the Republican party, the war (which was a result of 9/11, albeit semi-erroneously), etc. Health care and education are also factors, but the Middle East is a biggie.

    I don’t pretend to be a political pundit — that’s just my sophomoric take on it all.

  4. I figured as much on the phrasing, Chels. I had forgotten your mom’s fascination with numbers (can’t imagine what math homework must have been like for you). Yikes.

    I hear what you’re saying on 9/11, but if all America’s problems came down to being about bin Laden, there would be a much louder cry to find him than there is. Personally, I can’t believe we haven’t found him yet, but it seems to me the country has moved on regardless and seems more preoccupied with the lagging economy now, which is as much a result of stupid financial decisions by banks and individuals as anything else. But that’s just my sophomoric take as well.

  5. Oh yeah, I forgot about that pesky economy. I was pretty darn excited to see gas at $3.49 a gallon this afternoon. It’s amazing how quickly your definition of a “bargain” changes.

    Maybe my perspective on the whole war thing is colored by the fact that I live in a military town. About 25 percent of my friends and church are military, most of whom have lived through recent (and multiple) deployments. It’s brutal.

    Have a great semester, by the way. I want to hear your answer to your students’ questions about why there are so many versions of the Bible. My answer? It’s a marketing scheme.

Leave a Reply

