Because life is a series of edits

When Teachers Dream

In Education, Westminster on August 1, 2008 at 10:47 am

I’m having a hard time wrapping my brain around the fact that it’s August already. A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, I (vaguely) remember it being June; July, however, is a 31-day block gone missing. Maybe I’ve repressed it, but the fact that I’m blogging about this is a prime sign I’m in denial of reality. I’ve rationalized this post as a public service to those of you who, like me, are scratching your head as you flip the calendar and see some red-leafed tree staring you in the face.

I’m supposed to start teaching again in 13 days; faculty orientation is in ten. Last night/early this morning I had a nightmare about my first day of class that had me cramming 20 students into a fellow teacher’s car and going for a drive, formally introducing myself to them as we went. As my goal was also to get to know the students, I asked them to introduce themselves (even those in the very back, though I couldn’t put names with faces as I couldn’t see all of them in the rearview mirror).

As I was executing an awkward six-point turn on a snowy(?!) country road to start heading back, I dented/scraped the side of a parked car. Not thinking I hit it hard enough to do any damage, we drove off, but then I remembered I taught Ethics and New Testament, so I decided to go back, leave a note for the owner, and set a good example for the students by doing the right thing. But instead of just leaving a note, I decided to actually find the driver, which ended up taking a good hour while making the kids even more uncomfortable in the back seats.

The dream went on, but it’s fuzzy from there. All I recall is that we eventually made it back to school, the students were wound up, and I had absolutely no control of the situation. Thankfully I woke up (probably with a violent jump like in the movies), but it took me at least half an hour to shake the feeling that it all really happened.

This morning – August 1st – has been a semi-painful come-to-Jesus realization that I’ve done squat over the summer to get ready for this fall, and I have less than two weeks to figure things out. Needless to say, a first-day roadtrip for twenty is out of the question.

  1. I think they make medication for just what you are speaking of.

    Or beer.

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only (former) teacher to have had these nightmares. Mine weren’t as creative, though. I just had classrooms full of kids and nary a lesson plan in sight, and sometimes the principal would be on his way to do an observation. Oh wait, I actually did have days like that as a teacher.

  3. I think we’ve all had those stress-induced teaching dreams. Mine usually have to do with me saying something slightly inappropriate to a student, or accidentally discouraging a student or forgetting to inform a parent about missed work only to face a screaming parent and the chastisement of my principal.

Leave a Reply

