Because life is a series of edits

The X-Files: I Want to Believe

In Thought on April 17, 2008 at 6:51 am

Just read that the new X-Files movie is officially titled: “I Want to Believe.” I suppose it works, though the object of faith apparently shifts from UFOs to religion in this one:

“‘It’s a natural title,’ (Director Chris) Carter said in a telephone interview Tuesday during a break from editing the film. ‘It’s a story that involves the difficulties in mediating faith and science. `I Want to Believe.’ It really does suggest Mulder’s struggle with his faith.'”

Sounds a little overly-modern in its approach, but okay. Let’s just hope there’s no CSJ (Cigarette-Smoking Jesus) leading some syndicate of world religions for the good of mankind.

  1. In regards to your last sentence, see this.

  2. Don’t worry, Trav (and put away your legalism detector). I’m not bashing smokers (and I like Jeremy’s piece); I was more referencing a potential plot line that makes Jesus seem “one of many” spiritual conspirators (a la the Cigarette-Smoking Man was a government conspirator in the show).

  3. I was just jokin bro. I know you’re not a legalist. Well… at least no more than the rest of us.

  4. No, I have enough legalism to cover everyone in this family. It’s not coming from Craig.

Leave a Reply

