Because life is a series of edits

Overcast Links

In Pop Culture on March 19, 2008 at 11:49 am

A few links on an overcast, rainy day (our third in a row, which I’m loving):

  • Megan is finishing up her music discussion week (one more song tomorrow), so check out the lyrics and leave a comment; everybody’s doing it
  • At least somebody at the New York Times gets it regarding Eliot Spitzer (and men in general – “bromance” anyone?):

“Every society produces its own distinct brand of social misfits, I suppose, but our social structure seems to produce significant numbers of people with rank-link imbalances. That is to say, they have all of the social skills required to improve their social rank, but none of the social skills that lead to genuine bonding.”

  1. Craig,
    The story of Dubai is amazing. Just 15 years ago the place was desolate. I actually used Burj Dubai as an illustrating introduction to a sermon I preached last semester on Genesis 11. I thought it was a good story to open with, but it lacked a personal account I guess because it didn’t go over well. Anyway, I thought it was a fascinating story and wanted to talk about this structure. Nice pictures on that link!

  2. So yesterday, I was having a conversation with the Young Adult/College Pastor in my church, when I looked at his desk, and lo and behold! A Twentysomeone book just sitting there.

    He said that when he read it, he felt like he was a having a conversation with you guys.

    Good Show!

Leave a Reply

