Because life is a series of edits

Desperately Seeking Sabbath

In Health on March 8, 2008 at 2:07 pm

“All men’s miseries derive from not being able to sit in a quiet room alone.” Blaise Pascal

In a bit of a melancholic funk today from squeezing too much work into too little of a week last week; not sleeping well, not reading much, and not getting enough of my recommended daily allowance of time spent alone. Sabbath‘s looking pretty darn good.

  1. Hi,
    Health is the greatest possession. Contentment is the greatest treasure. Confidence is the greatest friend. Non-being is the greatest joy.

  2. And spam is the greatest annoyance.

  3. Recently I recognized the pervasive clamor we live with in our society. Enough clamor and I can start to feel mental.

  4. Hi Craig. I don’t know you from Adam but I am compelled to write a short note. My son (25) found an article you wrote about the Sabbath, liked it (he is approaching marriage), and recommended that I read it. That brought me to your site and from there I checked out your page for your book TWENTYSOMEONE.

    All that explanation to say I clicked on “weight loss for women over 40” in the Recent Comments box. I hope you don’t mind my “don’t know you from Adam” position but I wanted to recommend that you remove her link. I was disgusted by her uTube video. From her bio I didn’t expect it. I certainly wouldn’t want MY mom exhibiting herself in such a way or my sons viewing it. (The end of her video is worse than the beginning.)

    I assume you haven’t seen it, which is a good thing, and I assume you would not want the young men that you are obviously having a great influence on to be tempted to see it either. I was gratified to read your comment following her weird one.

    Thank you for the opportunity to speak and thank you for your positive influence. Concerned mom

  5. Welcome to the blog, Kathryn, and thanks for your note. Glad to have you (and your son) stop by and hope you’ll come back.

    Indeed, I was not aware of or had viewed the video you mentioned, so I asked Megan to check it out for me. Her thought was that the video was in perfect context for the spam that it was, but agreed that it wasn’t in exactly the best taste.

    While I try not to be over-censorious of things and am usually hesitant to remove comments, in light of the aforementioned link being spam, I left the comment and simply removed the link to the site. Hope this seems satisfactory to you.

    Again, thanks for taking the time to voice your thoughts. I appreciate the feedback.

Leave a Reply

