Because life is a series of edits

Things That Made Me Smile Today

In Books, Family, Friends, Places, Pop Culture on February 20, 2008 at 2:00 am

Rumor has it that I'm hard to please, but it really doesn't take all that much to make me smile. To prove my point, here's what did it today (and I'm not making these up):

New Office Digs

  • My new office in the Pit of Despair (our unfinished basement) after a weekend of swapping workspaces with Megan's crafts
  • Homemade whole wheat (read: colon blow) cinnamon rolls for breakfast (with pigs in blankets for lunch)
  • The song "One Dozen Monkeys" on the new kids album (recommended) from the ever-quirky 80's band They Might Be Giants
  • Chaz and Danny (a.k.a. Frick and Frack) calling me Mr. Starship Unicorn all 7th period (don't ask me why – I don't think they even know)
  • The introductory quote in Tim Keller's new book, The Reason for God: "I find your lack of faith – disturbing. (Darth Vader)"
  • My two older daughters writing letters in cursive
  • My two younger daughters acting out the "Maw-wiage" scene in The Princess Bride (they also do a pretty good "Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya…")

When you don't get out much, it's the little things that go a long way.

  1. You have me cracking up, not just smiling. So nice to hear that you and the misses will be making more use of your respective new spaces.

  2. … you have killed my father. Now, prepare to die.
    Very amusing post. I think it is important to remind ourselves every day of things which bring us joy. Otherwise, we can get mired in the unpleasant things which pop up.

  3. What does it say about me that I smiled (figuratively) at trying to identify as many of the books/series on your bookshelf as I could? Talk about not getting out much…

  4. It’s taken me three days, but I’ve got it. I like your office space so much because it reminds me of your home office we had in Colorado. You haven’t had a carved out space like this in three years and I’m so glad you have it now. Good idea.

Leave a Reply

