Because life is a series of edits

Possible Snow Day Linkage

In Pop Culture on January 31, 2008 at 10:58 am

I’ve got a wife, four children, and at least 100 students praying for a snow day tomorrow. Even though I’m giving a test, I suppose I’d stay home if the forecast panned out (supposedly 5-8 inches by Friday morning). Possible snow day linkage for you:

  1. i know someone who has seen it (the Helvetica film)! (hat tip to caron:) she liked it too. all i can say is…amazing! m

  2. Interestingly one-sided piece about Christian schools. Love it when people generalize about a certain category of schools. (Just like Megan loves it when homeschoolers get stereotyped.)
    I had to read that Neil Postman book in college. He’s semi-brilliant.

  3. Brooke and I will be at the Dwell conference in April. If you ask real nice I might email you a copy of my notes.

  4. One-sided, Chels? Apart from the last paragraph (which is, agreeably, overstated politically), help me understand the educational bias to which you’re responding. I see challenge, not bias.

    Drop the “semi-” and I’m with you on Postman.

  5. I read it as “Christian schools should, but they aren’t.” Challenge or accusation? I read it as the latter, but maybe I misread his tone.

  6. Regardless of tone, I think Olasky’s statement is (and needs to be) both. The problem is not so much administration or teachers, but parents who put their kids in Christian schools out of fear of the public school system rather than out of a call to Christian education.

    Not long ago, I received an email from a parent stating how important it is for his child to receive perfect (no exaggeration) grades in his classes to “maximize our financial investment” in sending him to Westminster. He wasn’t making “perfect” grades in my class (he only had a high A, not an A+), but these kinds of parental expectations put pressure on many Christian schools to acquiesce.

    Thankfully, my administration backed me up and challenged the parents placing so much pressure on their student, but I’m afraid it fell on deaf ears. Granted, this isn’t how all parents are (nor is Westminster perfect in always dealing with the tension), but the increase of this trend forces Christian schools to make decisions that, in my opinion, are more pragmatic than principled when it comes to why they do what they do. I think that’s what resonated with me in Olasky’s article, and why I linked to it.

  7. Did you get your snow day? If memory serves me correctly, the city of St. Louis shuts down with 1-2 inches. Or at least traffic would come to a standstill with such amounts when we lived there.

  8. We got about 7 inches (and yes, we got a snow day). The Sorority and I have just been hanging out here at home, which has been nice. Thanks for caring, Tredway.

  9. When I was teaching in the public schools, I dealt with similar parents. And my tenure in the public schools was the driving force behind our decision to send our kids to a Christian school. It IS scary stuff going on there — socially, academically, and spiritually.

    Our decision was part fear, part distaste for the state’s standardized test that the entire public system bows down to, and part desire to get as much support as possible in raising our children in the Christian faith. As first-generation Christians, we feel like we need as much help as we can get. I know I’m defending myself, but the article really angered me for some reason.

  10. You’re not defending yourself (at least not in a defensive way), Chels. Thanks for your thoughts and for clarifying where you’re coming from with them.

Leave a Reply

