Because life is a series of edits

Debate of the Union

In Politics on January 28, 2008 at 10:41 pm

Well, we watched President Bush give his final State of the Union address tonight. I would agree with those pundits who called his speech “realistic” – not a lot of new stuff or language to complicate things, which is probably why he sounded confident this evening.

It’s obvious Mr. Bush is staking any and all historical evaluation of his presidency on the outcome of things in Iraq, but it’s going to take years for clarity to come in that situation. In the meantime, get ready for a slow and steady lameduck fade in the face of a still wide-open presidential election as the current Debate of the Union continues.

In general, I experienced much of the same cynicism induced by last year’s speech (maybe a little more when W. was signing autographs for members of Congress). I would like, however, to present a very special award for the lamest Democratic response in American history to Kathleen Sebelius, governor of Kansas. If our military efforts in Iraq fail, perhaps she could bore the terrorists to death.

Thoughts?

  1. more of the same crap..when will the general public wake up? Hopefully soon… for the sake of my generation (I’m 30). Seriously, we are screwed. I personally will be supporting the only man with a conscience in the presidential running – Ron Paul. Media likes to make everyone think he’s crazy, but I did my research and the media is dead wrong. They are afraid of his indpendent thought and that became more evident the more I read (and the more I studied economics). State of the Union? Who gives a darn if the same bad medicine is being given to all of America’s ills… I beg of everyone to save my personal future!

  2. I’m not crazy about Bush, but I’m not crazy about his replacement either…whoever that may be. Yes, I would love to see Ron Paul in office, but I’m a realist and I know that it won’t happen, at least not this time around. Maybe we’ll have a Democrat in there next time and people will really start to wake up then and stop blaming everything on Bush. It’s not all his fault, or the fault of the Republican party. It’s our fault for letting it get this way.

  3. Like both of you (LLG and JT – welcome to Second Drafts, by the way), many in our generation (not everybody, of course) would vote for Ron Paul if we felt he had a serious chance to win. Perhaps I’m too pragmatic a voter, but in your opinion, would my vote be better cast as one of influence among the front runners or of complaint in support of Ron Paul? I’m not saying the two are mutually exclusive, but it sure feels like it. Where’s the line between voting realistically and voting one’s conscience?

  4. If Paul is still in the race in November, whether as a Republican or an Independent, I’m voting for him. If he’s not in the race, I don’t know who I will vote for. I don’t think there is a lesser of two evils when comparing the rest of the field.

Leave a Reply

