Because life is a series of edits

Expelled

In Internet, Movies on August 28, 2007 at 5:13 am

I am really excited about Ben Stein’s upcoming (February) movie, Expelled. I’m planning to show the trailer to all three of my Ethics classes today, as we were just talking yesterday about humanism being the religion du jour of higher academia (with Darwinian evolution its off-limits-to-inspection gospel) .

The website is clever and the movie looks informative and quirky. I’m hoping some good comes of it and that the intelligent design movement will benefit somehow as a result.

Some other links today:

  1. Maybe I completely missed something in watching the trailer, but I didn’t get the sense that the movie was going to do much in terms of making the intelligent design movement look, well, intelligent.

    But I think I can understand your excitement looking at it from a “teachable moment” point of view. I always love a good opportunity to work on discernment (theirs AND mine) with my kids.

  2. Check the blog page, Renae (particularly the “rest of the entry” link). Stein is not advocating for intelligent design per se, but I think his efforts could benefit the movement in at least getting some more mainstream media attention that doesn’t start out critical from the get go.

    Then again, as my optometrist says, “We’ll see.”

  3. Interesting list of early-riser tips. I disagree with the no-reading-in-bed tip. If I’m really into a book, I’m more motivated to wake up early and read a few more pages before I jump in the shower.

    The author neglected to list the only sure-fire way to ensure an early waketime: Have children.

  4. Indeed, Chels, I like reading in bed (and do so every night). And, I remember when Megan and I were first married, we would wake up on Saturday and spend the entire morning reading in bed. Good times, good times.

    As you alluded to, however, those days have come and gone.

  5. i’ll echo the children sentiment, all the others require a certain amount of willpower and discipline that normally preclude the need of such lists

    speaking of expelled, did I tell you about the time I got suspended as a Christian school teacher for telling a group of students that the headmaster should be eternally condemned

    good times, good times

  6. Can’t say I’ve heard the full story, but I’m sure my readers would enjoy/endure it.

    Didn’t you teach art?

  7. it’s kind of a long story, and i feel like I would have to explain,
    yes I taught art at a Christian High School, it was a fine evangelical institution but not reformed and not closely connected with any church. The school was incredibly moralistic but they had no compass to help them understand that the gospel did more than just save. The ethos of the school was ruled by rules, good christian rules. A few of the kids understood the gospel better than most of the teachers, but most of them played the game of being a christian means doing well in school and not getting in trouble, a few others weren’t christians either but they didn’t play the game and were labeled as bad kids. These were the ones I wanted to minister to unlike many of my colleagues who wanted them out of the school. The school/administration wanted to pretend that it wasn’t evangelistic in nature, that all the kids and all the parents were christians and if they didn’t act like it they shouldn’t be there. The reality is that any work with children, covenant children or not, is evangelistic.
    So … we had chapels each week and very few were Christ-centered messages. After chapels each teacher would meet with a small group of students to talk about the message or just to get to know each other more. One chapel the headmaster gave a message that was moralistic and Jesusless. I grew and grew in anger during the message and afterwards stormed off to my room wondering what to say to my group. I prayed, I paced, when they came in and sat down I went to the board and wrote, “Strive without ceasing,” and told them that these were the last recorded words of Buddha to his disciples, and the same message they just heard in chapel. I then wrote on the board, “Be still and know that I am God, Psalm 46:10.” and went on to explain the gospel and what it requires of us and how it then moves us in obedience, love constrains to obedience. Unfortunately I didn’t stop there, I went to Gal. 1 and repeated Paul’s words that if anyone preaches to you a gospel other than the one that I have given then they should be eternally condemned, I said that Paul repeats himself so I will too, I said it again and in a fit of passion and rage I yelled, “So damn him,” referring to the headmaster. I went on to say that of course I didn’t think he should go to hell and went on to talk more about the gospel but the damage was done. They didn’t hear anything else, and as soon as they left the rumors spread like wildfire through the school. I got a call from the headmaster that night asking me to an early morning meaning. I didn’t sleep much that night but prayed from conviction of sin and courage to stand for the truth. Both came and I saw how even though what i said was right, how I said it and who I said it to was not. I explained this to the headmaster and the spiritual director of the school and asked for their forgiveness and then we all met with those students and I did the same again. I was suspended without pay for a week and probably lost some ability to speak into the lives of teachers in the school because they couldn’t understand what would lead me to do what I did. part of me is glad for standing for the truth but I’m also sad that I wasn’t wiser in how I confronted the school with it’s sin.
    I’d be surprised if you didn’t run in to some of these moralistic tendencies at Westminister but I hope and pray it’s not as bad as the school where I was.

  8. Oh, I so love the little school that my kids go to… it’s wonderfully grace-filled and presents a Christian worldview without being filled with little “Christian kids” with perfect little “Christian lives” taught by perfect little “Christian teachers” and having perfect “Christian parents” me being a good representation of imperfection.

    So, I’m so sorry that was your Christian school teaching experience, Hans, and I too hope that’s not your experience at Westminster, Craig, partially selfishly because it’s one of the primary options for our school’s “graduates.”

Leave a Reply

