Because life is a series of edits

London Logo

In Sports on June 4, 2007 at 4:23 pm

london-2012.jpgThe new logo for the London 2012 Olympics has just been released, complete with hubbub over the fact that it is “hideous,” too youthful in appearance, and a waste of Olympic money (as if this were the only such example).

Having designed logos before (and not having seen the other designs that were considered), my guess is that maybe they could have come up with something a little more…oh, I don’t know…legible? What are your thoughts?

  1. Phffft. I didn’t even notice that it said “2012” until I read the word “legible” and then looked at the logo again.

    What do you think this means, from the web site: “the new emblem is modern and will be dynamic, evolving in the years between now and 2012.”

    So, if all that red stuff is “2012,” I want to know what the square in the middle is for.

  2. I didn’t get that it was 2012 until Renae’s comment. But I think the red box in the middle is just part of the last 2.

    Maybe…

  3. I’m reminded of the set of the PBS show Zoom. That 2 definitely looks like the huge Z from that show.

    I would have never, ever known what that logo was supposed to say if you hadn’t spelled it out.

  4. Ditto for me on not realizing the logo was a number. I thought it was some kind of post-modern map of England or something.

  5. Wow, the Brits really know how to give a good zinger. I just read the article you linked to. These quotes are great:

    “Was there an open competition to supply the designs? If so, what on earth do the rejected ones look like!”

    “We need to know how much money this exercise has cost, because whatever it was, it’s been a complete waste of money.”

    “This logo makes me embarrassed to be English.”

    “It looks like it could have been done by a six year old. I could do better with my eyes closed.”

  6. The logo is certainly trendy, particularly in its choice of font in type and use (that is, as a background). I’ve only been once, but I’m not sure this logo captures the town I remember London being; of course, I was there in 1987, which, if they could somehow pull off some kind of Olympic time travel, might work with the logo (for better or worse, it’s got a bit of an 80’s vibe to it). Time travel Olympics: that would be new.

    No idea as to Renae’s question regarding its forthcoming “evolution,” but I’m guessing (hoping?) they are alluding to some degree of clarifying transition between now and then, but who really cares about a logo evolving over the next five years, other than the clothing folks, who could make a mint selling the different “editions” of apparel over time.

    I agree with Nick’s observation: the Brits tell it like it is. Wonder if anyone’s going to file a lawsuit on behalf of someone being offended by these comments, or is that still just an American thing?

  7. Here are ten reasons from a group of designers to positively reconsider the new Olympic logo (hat tip: Barlow Farms).

    Still, I’m not convinced.

Leave a Reply

