Because life is a series of edits

Saving Daylight

In Pop Culture, Technology, Thought on March 11, 2007 at 9:46 pm

I’ll come right out and say it: I’m a fan of Daylight Saving Time. Part of my affinity is simply change (which I usually like); part is that it just makes sense for a lot of reasons, not the least of which that it buys me a little extra time in the morning as my kids adjust to trying getting up in the morning after playing later outside the night before (“falling back” always works against us).

“Springing forward” to make use of more daylight seems good stewardship to me, and I’m not just talking about energy. During the winter months, I always feel like my body is fighting against nature. Personally (and I have no way to prove this other than my own observation), my body line ups/feels better during DST. I don’t know why; it just does.

Maybe this is the farm kid in me talking, but if the sun’s up or out, there must still be work to do somewhere. Then again, that may be this farm kid’s father talking – he who, when I would lumber to the breakfast table at 8:05 in the morning to woof down breakfast before speeding to make an 8:15 school bell, would remind me “the day’s half over”.

In case you’re wondering, Dad always liked DST; Mom, not so much, as we were always eating dinner at 7:30 during planting season.

I know there are plenty of folks who have all kinds of reasons why they don’t like DST, but I’ve not heard one that seems legitimate. Maybe you have one?

Megan asked me last night if she thought our Macs would compensate for the earlier-than-usual time change this spring. Sure enough, they did (our PC is still an hour behind), which is just another reason to buy a Mac instead of a PC, not one to give up daylight saving time.

  1. You must be especially happy that daylight savings lasts a whole extra month this year. (Why, I don’t know, but I’m pretty thrilled that the change coincides with spring break so we have a week to adjust.) The main reason I don’t like DST is because I’m a morning person and I really, really like the sun to get up with me. And it’s hard to get the kids to sleep at 8 p.m. when the sun is still streaming through their pseudo blackout shades.

  2. I concur about the Macs! What a thrill to see that Apple had seen to it that our clocks would be correct today without any interference. I guess it just happened with one of the updates I so easily downloaded when prompted to do so.

    I like the psychology of switching to DST now, too. Winter seems so long, yet the change, which portends the spring and summer coming, has given me a psychological boost.

    Mind you, we didn’t eat dinner until 8 pm tonight!

  3. I think there’s only three of us then who like DST.

  4. Like you, Chelsea, I’m a morning person, but I’ve never asked “the sun to get up with me” (what an interesting, very Chelsea-like phrasing). I prefer to feel like I get a jump on the day when the sun’s still hitting snooze at 6 a.m. (or even 6:30). Indeed, bedtime can be a challenge, but when is it not?

    Sally, we keep dinner at 5:30, regardless. Our problem, then, is dealing with 7:30 snack requests (which are always, “no”).

    Jeff, Megan and the girls like it, too, so that puts us up to eight.

  5. By saying it was an interesting Chelsea-like phrase, are you implying that I think the world revolves around me? (I’m well aware it doesn’t, I just wish it did.)

  6. Not at all, Chels…I just thought the turn of phrase was one only an editor/writer would coin (though I now see how it could be taken differently). No offense meant…even if it might have been true (by your own admission, of course). Tell me you’re laughing. I’d better stop now. Sorry.

  7. Yes, I’m laughing. I can see the personification of the sun rather than my desire for all things to revolve around me. My writing skin has become much thicker over the years, as I’m sure yours has, too. My writing pimp (sorry, agent) no longer offends me when he chops up my articles.

Leave a Reply

