Because life is a series of edits

Oh, the Weather Outside Is Frightful…

In Places & Spaces on November 30, 2006 at 2:00 am

The first major storm of the winter looks to be making its way through St. Louis today and tonight, with freezing rain and potentially 4-10 inches of snow on top by tomorrow. Personally, I'll take all of it and then some, as the recent rash of spring-like 70-degree temperatures is screwing up my work ethic. I just work better when it's miserable.

Maybe it's because we don't have to go anywhere anytime soon, but there's something cool about the majority of a big city simply having to shut down because of weather. If nothing else, it just reminds us (okay, it reminds me) that we're only in control of earthly things to a point. My guess is that most of us could use this kind of reminder more than we actually get it.

  1. Once again, Nick, you raise the greatest of theological questions in our little forum here. All I know is that, speaking purely existentially, today’s snow day is nothing less than a taste of glory to me.

  2. I hate cold weather, but…
    do you think that snow days are part of the “fallenness” of the world, or a taste of the glory to come? I mean, in some ways, schools and businesses shutting down are bad things. But really, is there anything better than a snow day?

Leave a Reply

