Because life is a series of edits

Random Schmada

In Pop Culture on September 22, 2006 at 2:00 am

As the past week has largely been a wash in terms of actual content here at Second Drafts, I thought I'd round out the week with a random list so as not to break the cycle. Thankfully, this weekend is fairly unspoken for in terms of previous engagements (the first time in nearly a month), so I'll try to do better. In the meantime, enjoy the random schmada below.

Intriguing search engine terms with which people found my blog in the past week:

  • "men need emotional support"
  • "best books seminary training"
  • "significant quotes from the puritan time"
  • "euphemisms for stupid"
  • "cereal parade float pictures"
  • "playing dress up with the wife" (my favorite)

Biggest academic breakthrough in the past month: Hebrew (I'm finally getting it…for now)

Latest season of The X-Files watched on DVD: Season 4

Latest song downloaded from iTunes: "Suitcase" by Keb' Mo'

Best book read in the past month: How to Read the Bible Book by Book by Gordon Fee and Douglas Stuart

Worst book read in the past month: The Traveler by John Twelve Hawks

Book I'm looking forward to reading in the next month: What the Best College Teachers Do by Ken Bain

Check back next week for something (hopefully) a little more intellectually stimulating.

  1. Craig,
    I have skimmed the book by Bain. It is excellent. I am trying to incorporate Bain’s findings in my teaching.
    Luke

  2. I’m through the first three chapters, Luke, and loving it. Wow.
    As late add-ons, I wanted to be sure to share these additional search engine terms from today (I’m not making these up, folks – they’re for real):
    – Johnny Cash downloadable bible reading
    – Superman as a Savior
    The second one I can understand because of this post; the Johnny Cash query, however, is beyond me.

  3. I really, really love that my main influence on your life has been the introduction of the word schmada. (I prefer the abbreviated schma myself, sometimes schma schma if it’s really pointless.) If anybody ever reaches your site by searching for that word, I’ll be truly happy. Probably too much to hope for the OED, though.
    “Playing dress up with the wife,” huh? What post did that refer to?
    Mazel Tov on the Hebrew progress.

  4. Yes, Chelsea, my life has been changed by “schmada,” and I give you full credit for that – all hail the summer of 1993.
    I’m guessing the “dress up” query refers to this one. Interestingly, I had another search today for “MY WIFE LIKES TO DRESS ME IN DRESSES.”
    Weird.

Leave a Reply

